No text

For ingame and editor help.

Moderators: SMC Team, MVP

No text

Postby desmotes » 30 Sep 2011 09:40

I recently installed smc 1.9-12_64 on ArchLinux and all text is missing, while the option itself seems to be intact. :shock:
Can't think of a reason and google etc returned no results.

While I was able to change most of the options, there is no chance to change the stupid keyboard-layout due to that kb_value stuff...so, any ideas?
Attachments
smc.png
screenshot
smc.png (331.83 KiB) Viewed 17549 times
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby DevEd2 » 05 Oct 2011 12:29

Try reinstalling it.
User avatar
DevEd2
Turtle boss
Turtle boss
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 30 Nov 2010 22:44
Location: Earth :P

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 05 Oct 2011 19:25

Really? "Try reinstalling it."? :lol:
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby DevEd2 » 05 Oct 2011 22:54

Really! I mean it! :x

EDIT: Either that, or the configuration is messed up. Go to SMC's local data folder (Mac: ~/Library/Application Support/smc, Linux: /usr/share/smc, Windows: C:\Documents and Settings\Application Data\smc (?) ) and delete the file named config.xml. Then restart SMC.
User avatar
DevEd2
Turtle boss
Turtle boss
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 30 Nov 2010 22:44
Location: Earth :P

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 06 Oct 2011 11:38

Are you such a noob or do you think I am? The installation is correct, so is the config afaict.
It's gotta be kind of a bug or messed up libraries, python or whatever,
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby Crabmaster » 06 Oct 2011 14:39

Actually, he is right, the first thing you should always try is to redownload and reinstall the game, quite a few bugs have been solved by just doing that.

That is all I can say to help, if it doesn't work, then BowserJr or Luiji should be more of a help in the mater of code.
Feeling nostalgic for this ol' place!
User avatar
Crabmaster
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: 05 Sep 2009 00:18
Location: CrabWorld

Re: No text

Postby BowserJr » 06 Oct 2011 19:25

I'd normally say it looks like a font issue, but the fonts should be packaged with the game. Make sure you have them, and that you have read access to them (should be in usr/share/smc/gui/font/). Otherwise, it'll be a CEGUI issue, which tend to be a pain to debug. Do you get anything from running it in terminal?
"Plants need to have water poured on them because they have no hands to hold glasses of water."
User avatar
BowserJr
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 05 Feb 2007 14:07
Location: London, UK

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 06 Oct 2011 23:38

I thought of a problem of read access, but I already changed the user rights in /.../fonts to *username* and group "games", also copied the fonts into my font-directory, but none of it solved the problem.
Terminal doesn't say anything.
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby -DarkAceZ- » 07 Oct 2011 02:33

You can reinstall without losing all of your saved progress.
Last edited by -DarkAceZ- on 07 Oct 2011 03:50, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
-DarkAceZ-
Maryo small
Maryo small
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: 28 Oct 2010 17:24
Location: The Level Editor

Re: No text

Postby penguin » 07 Oct 2011 03:39

He's running Arch Linux.
my wiki page
I may disappear for a long time, but trust me, I'm still alive.
User avatar
penguin
Turtle boss
Turtle boss
 
Posts: 665
Joined: 14 Nov 2009 14:37
Location: Nebraska

Re: No text

Postby DevEd2 » 07 Oct 2011 15:18

Wait! Did desmotes actually call me a NOOB?!!!!!! I'M INSULTED!!!:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
User avatar
DevEd2
Turtle boss
Turtle boss
 
Posts: 791
Joined: 30 Nov 2010 22:44
Location: Earth :P

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 07 Oct 2011 16:12

If that's what you take out of that post, then "noob" is definately not the word coming to my mind :lol:
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby Crabmaster » 07 Oct 2011 16:17

Hey hey now, Desmotes be nice.

And DevEd2, stop over reacting.
Feeling nostalgic for this ol' place!
User avatar
Crabmaster
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: 05 Sep 2009 00:18
Location: CrabWorld

Re: No text

Postby -DarkAceZ- » 07 Oct 2011 16:29

Either way, we're not getting the problem solved...
User avatar
-DarkAceZ-
Maryo small
Maryo small
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: 28 Oct 2010 17:24
Location: The Level Editor

Re: No text

Postby Dr. Luygi » 08 Oct 2011 04:08

DevEd2 wrote:Wait! Did desmotes actually call me a NOOB?!!!!!! I'M INSULTED!!!:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Noobs tend to overuse smiles and red text.

Anyway, you could just copy+paste all your levels/custom pixmaps/savestates/etc. if you reinstalled. I really don't see what'd be so hard about that. Image
Hello again, old friend.
Dr. Luygi
Gee red
Gee red
 
Posts: 368
Joined: 05 Oct 2010 22:33

Re: No text

Postby penguin » 08 Oct 2011 13:35

Isn't it even simp:er than that?
Just keep the smc-data package
my wiki page
I may disappear for a long time, but trust me, I'm still alive.
User avatar
penguin
Turtle boss
Turtle boss
 
Posts: 665
Joined: 14 Nov 2009 14:37
Location: Nebraska

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 11 Oct 2011 18:25

So does this mean it's a hard bug and won't be solved here?
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby BowserJr » 11 Oct 2011 19:11

Quite possibly. Our lead developer's been away for a while and no one else really knows CEGUI. The CEGUI forum might be of more help, assuming it's a configuration problem rather than a problem with SMC's code.
"Plants need to have water poured on them because they have no hands to hold glasses of water."
User avatar
BowserJr
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 05 Feb 2007 14:07
Location: London, UK

Re: No text

Postby desmotes » 11 Oct 2011 20:26

And is there any way to find out the correlating keycode for a potencial key?
desmotes
Furball blue
Furball blue
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Sep 2011 09:26

Re: No text

Postby Luiji » 06 Dec 2012 02:39

That belongs in a new thread. If you create a new one with this thought, I'll respond there.
Custom Built IBM-Compatible (Arch Linux w/ KDE)
Dell Vostro (Windows 7)
Dell Inspiron 1440 (Windows Server 2003, Debian w/ KDE)
Dell Inspiron 11z (Linux Mint)
Luiji
MVP
MVP
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: 14 Jan 2010 23:20
Location: The Mushroom Kyngdom


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron