[SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Reports that are not bugs or happen because of a misconfiguration.

Moderators: SMC Team, MVP

[SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Postby BowserJr » 29 Oct 2009 01:22

Probably to do with the smoke particles. Looks very wierd. :shock:
Attachments
1.jpg
Rokko is falling apart!
1.jpg (25.84 KiB) Viewed 4067 times
"Plants need to have water poured on them because they have no hands to hold glasses of water."
User avatar
BowserJr
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 05 Feb 2007 14:07
Location: London, UK

Re: [SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Postby Crabmaster » 29 Oct 2009 02:00

Well we will not have to worry about this to long mrvertigo27 is make a replacement for the rokko. :mrgreen:
World takeover plans got me busy!
User avatar
Crabmaster
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: 05 Sep 2009 00:18
Location: CrabWorld

Re: [SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Postby FluXy » 29 Oct 2009 05:21

This looks like a graphics driver z-buffer bug.
Try another version of the graphics driver.
If i didn't read your post but it was important you can send me a PM.
Any Donation will help this project!
User avatar
FluXy
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: 04 May 2004 19:44
Location: Germany

Re: [SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Postby BowserJr » 29 Oct 2009 08:24

Crabmaster wrote:Well we will not have to worry about this to long mrvertigo27 is make a replacement for the rokko. :mrgreen:

But if it still has the same particle effects, how will a different image fix the problem?

This looks like a graphics driver z-buffer bug.
Try another version of the graphics driver.

Not easy at the moment, as I'm currently using the propriotory nVidia drivers. It took ages to get Xorg running at all. :P
As long as it's not affecting too many more people, I guess it's not so serious.

Now that you mention it, I have noticed that in levels where there are two backgrounds with the same z-pos (bad level design, but incredibly common amongst people who don't know why), they'll switch places and flicker a lot, especially when Maryo moves at high speed. This never happens if there is any seperation in z-pos, and I don't remember it happening on my old computer {open-source ATI drivers}. Can you change it in-game to force a tiny seperation on backgrounds if their z-pos is set the same? And to automatically add extra backgrounds in editor at a higher z-pos? Would this break anything?

Actually, could these be exactly the same issue? What's the z-pos of the Rokko particles?
"Plants need to have water poured on them because they have no hands to hold glasses of water."
User avatar
BowserJr
SMC Team
SMC Team
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 05 Feb 2007 14:07
Location: London, UK

Re: [SVN 1572] Rokko Graphical Glitch

Postby FluXy » 09 Nov 2009 11:45

The particle z position is behind rokko (This was 0.000001f but caused a weird graphical bug with an ATI card) :
Code: Select all
anim->Set_Pos_Z( m_pos_z - 0.00001f );

This looks like a driver bug !

The level backgrounds z position separation is already on my todo list (for a long time) but i never got around to implement it...
If i didn't read your post but it was important you can send me a PM.
Any Donation will help this project!
User avatar
FluXy
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: 04 May 2004 19:44
Location: Germany


Return to Invalid

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron